DS9 Episode 2.02: The Circle

In which I continue to enjoy what a copper-bottomed bitch Winn is.

Memory Alpha says: Sisko and Odo work to reveal the real force behind the Circle’s coup. (Part 2 of 3) (Please click the Memory Alpha link for detailed information.)

My Review
I’d just like you to know that I have brewed up some tea-Earl-Grey-hot to enjoy with this episode.

So when we left our heroes, O’Brien was, in succession, offended by sectarian graffiti, a pretendy pimp, and an unflappable badass. Oh, and there was some stuff about a Bajoran guy. AND THEY FIRED KIRA.

  • I really like this jerk’s jacket. Why do jerks get all the good jackets? Li and O’Brien both had horrible ones. It’s a really good colour for him and the stiff upright collar shapes his neck.
  • Sisko pulls the ol’ Darmok trick – use an allusion your interlocutor doesn’t understand to throw him off balance.
  • HEY
  • TAKE YOUR HANDS OFF THAT BASEBALL
  • IT’S HIS TOTEM OR SOMETHING
  • O’Brien the receptionist!
  • And for drama, Jake can’t just say ‘some jerks have sprayed graffiti on our door’ over the phone.
  • I love my sugar tongs so much. Yes, I’m putting sugar in my tea. I can if I like. Actual sugar CUBES. I hope you understand I have got myself set up here with a matching teapot, teacup and saucer, sugarbowl and sugar tongs. Gosh darnit, I forgot a teaspoon! Good thing it’s the CREDITS OF MELANCHOLY GRANDEUR. There, sorted.
  • And the first person to come and see about Kira is Odo. I love how indignant he is that she’s being less than her badass self. I just generally love these two together. There has been mutual rough-edge smoothing.
  • Chicks can always chat about skin lotion, Odo.
  • Julian: I came to give you my best.
    Dax (in reference to what Kira said just before): Well, that’s rather dull.
    Julian: I beg your pardon?
    (I cackle)
  • The comic timing and character dynamics of this scene are really lovely. Star Trek is so good when it’s deliberately silly.
  • Julian’s hair is looking good today. Much less fluffy than it was last season. It’s got a bit more texture.
  • Everyone’s touching O’Brien.
  • ‘Will someone please explain this conversation to me?’ Awwww, Julian.
  • Ewwww, Bareil. I see you’re here to be bland and creepy in your I’m A Cool Liberal Priest way. Heyyyyyy pretty lady, wanna come and hang out at my non-celibate monastery?
  • Well, the angle of that shot didn’t emphasise Kira’s arse at all.
  • Why is Li in grey, which seems to be the Bajoran equivalent of Operations/Engineering gold, not orange, like Kira, when he’s doing her old job? Or is it the special newly-invented Navark’s uniform? Navarch? I am a stickler for English spelling, but Bajoran spelling is not at all my strong point.
  • GOOD LORD I HAVE JUST SIGHTED SISKO HAVING SOMEONE’S BACK
  • Hallo lovely Tuscan-looking matte painting of Bajor!
  • Hallo Whistling Forest! (That’s what I’m going to call this location; if you remember ‘Encounter at Farpoint’ you know why.)
  • Another magnificent crocheted vest! I love your ‘I am a wood-elf from the 1990s’ fashion sense, Kira.
  • What is she even trying to make? A path of stepping-stones, so Wesley Crusher won’t fall in the stream again, or a dam? Making a dam is a lot of fun, but you have to gird up your ankle-length crocheted vest first.
  • STOP CREEPING ON KIRA BARIEL. BAREIL? IT WAS SPELLED BARIEL IN THE CREDITS FOR THIS EPISODE. NO IT’S MEANT TO BE BAREIL, THAT MUSTA BIN AN ERROR.
  • What, they do nothing here but art? You can tile a kiln! We saw you! Or dig a hole. I bet you’d dig a great hole.
  • GOD HE’S CREEPY. His voice is so flat and affectless.
  • IT’S AN ORB. Well, at least he wanted to show you his orb, not flash you his willy.
  • I like how the orbs are hourglass-shaped. Not actually orbs at all, as I understand the word. I mean, I like how they’re pretty, it’s just that I imagine orbs as spheres.
  • Dax, you look great in a Sydney Opera House hat. Even if you do subsequently turn into that bitchwagon Winn.
  • CREEPY NUDITY WHAT THE HELL IS HE DOING RIGHT BEHIND HER
  • DID BAREIL ASK THE ORB TO SET THIS UP SO HE COULD SCORE
  • creeptastic
  • ‘We’ve gotta leave! Well, I do, anyway; you can just turn into a couch.’ Line of the episode?
  • I think Odo actually just pronounced ‘Tcha!’ I’ve never been sure how it would sound in the real world before.
  • ‘Well they’re not delivering flowers these days!’ THAT was a CSI: Miami YYYYEEAAAH line.
  • DEPUTY QUARK. ADVENTURES FOR DEPUTY QUARK.
  • Is there anything in the world that gives quite such a sense of comfort and ease as a cup of hot sweet tea?
  • I think Odo can control people with his chin.
  • No, there’s no way you can help; you are essentially useless and the writers admit they had no idea what to do with you after ‘The Homecoming.’
  • Bareil looks creepily at the river, thinking ‘Exactly as planned.’
  • ‘What part did I play in your vision?’ ‘It’s not important.’ Translation: YOU PLAYED THE PART OF THE CHICK I WAS DOIN’.
  • Winn arrives with a mighty cry of TROLOLOLOLOLOLO and implies that Kira is Bareil’s tart. An astute woman.
  • ‘How long will you be with us, Major?’
    ‘I’m not sure.’
    ‘Feel free to stay as many days as you’d like… even a week if necessary.’
  • I LOVE THIS BITCH.
  • Hello General – nice HQ set you have here. Cool map!
  • UH my tea tastes so good. Why don’t I drink more tea, for goodness’ sake?
  • I’m kind of bored in this scene, which just seems to be all WE ARE MEN OF HONOUR.
  • Do you ever think Jadzia’s favourite hairclip looks like a belt buckle from Texas?
  • This alien’s makeup is magnificent! It’s like a crab and G’Kar from Babylon 5 had a baby!
  • Hello O’Brien, ilu and Dax talking to each other in code.
  • THE LABEL ON THAT LUNCHBOX IS ODO. Hey… how much of Odo is there? How can he compress himself into the size of a rat, or a label on the side of a box? Is the humanoid Odo like a bubble, a skin of surface around an empty middle? If he let you stick your hand into his tummy, would there just be air in there?
  • ODO LET ME STICK MY HAND INTO YOUR TUMMY; I’M DOING AN EXPERIMENT FOR THE INTERNET.
  • Kira and her ankle-length crochet vest are pleased to see Sisko.
  • Do they have bicycles on Bajor?
  • Kira’s hair is looking really glossy and nice. THEY’RE PALS. SISKO’S ACTUALLY GOT HER BACK. YAAAAAY.
  • BADDIES!
  • A CARDIE!
  • So of course Hey It’s That Guy is in charge of the Circle.
  • What will the Federation do? Nothing effective.
  • Quark, you are an excellent intelligence officer. Honestly, they should keep you on retainer.
  • ‘They’ve got more firearms than a Galaxy-class starship’? I presume that’s hyperbole.
  • Owwwwwww Kira’s face! Owwwwwww Julian’s back!
  • Li is so grey and Odo is so beige. Their hair matches their clothes.
  • Admiral Chakotay? Okay I’ll just assume it’s a relative, I’m not going to go and look up shit about Voyager.
  • Winn, that hat is frickin’ magnificent. Be careful with that taper/snuffer you’re carrying around.
  • That’s a beautiful shot of the two of them framed in the window.
  • See, I said the Federation would do nothing effective! All because of the namby-pamby Prime Directive.
  • I very much like the passive-aggressive way Sisko finds to justify staying behind and fighting. Passive-aggressive behaviour was first defined in a military context, and it was to describe stuff exactly like this – finding ways to disobey within the letter of the orders.

And so we leave our heroes until later this evening, when I’ll do the third part, because it would just be annoying to stick to the two DS9s, two TNGs rule when there’s a three-parter to wrap up. I’ll just do three TNGs after this to even it up, or odd it up, or whatever I mean.

6 Responses to “DS9 Episode 2.02: The Circle”

  1. innocentsmith Says:

    Bareil TOTALLY hacked that orb somehow to give Kira a creepy sex dream/vision about him. Ugh.

    It’s great that the Bajorans are cool with their clergy having sex lives, and all, but there is just something so very, very hinky about the way Kira and Bareil hook up. She comes to him as a believer to a priest, looking for spiritual and emotional guidance, and his response comes off as, “You will find your way forward in my pants.” Just…inappropriate.

  2. picardigan Says:

    I knowwwwwwww! And I just don’t feel like he wants her for the reasons she SHOULD be wanted (i.e. she is AWESOME).

  3. Curuchamion Says:

    * “I love how indignant he is that she’s being less than her badass self. I just generally love these two together.” – YES YES YES.

    (I find myself Very Puzzled by my brain, because normally I am the most canon-following person you would ever meet, but on this particular show I find that I like the epic Kira-Odo friendship way better than the Odo In Wuv storyline, and also – to my own extreme astonishment – I apparently ship Odo/Lwaxana QUITE HARD after seeing “The Muse”. O_O)

    * Also THAT WHOLE SCENE. The one where everyone is talking to Kira at once. I have to stop and watch it all the way through every time anyone links it anywhere, because it is JUST THAT GOOD. This scene is where DS9 grew the beard, for me.

    * “‘We’ve gotta leave! Well, I do, anyway; you can just turn into a couch.’ Line of the episode?” – LINE OF THE EPISODE. (Quark + Odo: what I said. René Auberjonois and Armin Shimerman are already the two best actors on the show, and then you put them together and… it’s one of those things where you put two and two together and get four million, y’know? *squee*)

    * “I think Odo actually just pronounced ‘Tcha!’ I’ve never been sure how it would sound in the real world before.” – Yes! I love that. He has a knack (as does John de Lancie, actually) for… I have no idea how to say what I mean, but stuff like saying “Tcha!” and looking all agog and otherwise making me break out the mental thesaurus to describe stuff what he’s doing.

    * “DEPUTY QUARK. ADVENTURES FOR DEPUTY QUARK.” – DEPUTY QUAAAAAAAARK! *wants* I would so utterly watch a seven-year 170-episode show that was nothing but the Awesome Adventures of Odo and Quark, deputy or otherwise. There could be a whole season where Quark was a deputy. (I would also watch the show that was Garak And Bashir And O’Brien, and the one that was Dax And Kira And Sometimes Sisko, and the Adventures Of The Noh-Jay Consortium YES THAT SO MUCH, and… heck, let’s see, the one where Quark and Garak go into tailoring together, and the one where Odo and Garak are epic more often, and DANGIT I WANT L&O: UFP TO BE A THING. Yes.)

    * “I think Odo can control people with his chin.” – Of course he can! ;D

    * “Do you ever think Jadzia’s favourite hairclip looks like a belt buckle from Texas?” – Often!

    (“Did you say ‘orphan’, a person who has lost his parents, or ‘often’ frequently? … Exactly! You said often frequently only once!” sorry, I’m so sorry.)

    * “ODO LET ME STICK MY HAND INTO YOUR TUMMY; I’M DOING AN EXPERIMENT FOR THE INTERNET.” – ditto. (You know what bothers me the most about early!DS9!Lwaxana? I WOULD BE EXACTLY LIKE HER around Odo. Only maybe worse. O_O)

    (Good gosh, I’m babbling.)

    • picardigan Says:

      Odo in Wuv borders on creepy at times, because he does tend to objectify Kira and relate to her as a Lady rather than as the person he knows and likes as well as worshiping and adoring.
      TCHA! HARRUMPH!
      We have so many good spin-off ideas, don’t we? I have one where Keiko gets eaten by an Audrey Two (or runs away with a soil scientist on days when I can’t bring myself to KILL her) and O’Brien can’t cope with his children on his own so Julian moves in on a temporary basis to help and stays forever and it becomes My Two Dads In Space.
      I have just decided that Jadzia’s hairclip IS a belt buckle from Texas and Curzon won it off a Texas Ranger in a game of chance and cunning; she turned it into a hair accessory in order to be badass.

      • Curuchamion Says:

        “I have one where Keiko gets eaten by an Audrey Two (or runs away with a soil scientist on days when I can’t bring myself to KILL her) and O’Brien can’t cope with his children on his own so Julian moves in on a temporary basis to help and stays forever and it becomes My Two Dads In Space.”

        I like this! 😀 Although I prefer the Audrey Two version, because Miles does love Keiko (for some inexplicable reason – /personal opinion) and would be extremely sadface if she ditched him. Whereas if she gets eaten in the line of work… that’s something Starfleet prepares you for, sort of.

        (And of course holidays involve Uncle Garak dropping by to give the kiddies inappropriately hazardous gifts and make snarky remarks with an innocent face. And probably eat up all the turkey and occasionally even join in the drunk!singing. DO WANT.)

        “I have just decided that Jadzia’s hairclip IS a belt buckle from Texas and Curzon won it off a Texas Ranger in a game of chance and cunning; she turned it into a hair accessory in order to be badass.”

        Hee! I have just seen “Facets” (aka the first one where somebody named Dax has a personality *g*) and I think you are right.

        • picardigan Says:

          And at least she went out doing something she loved, and probably thought the plant was very interesting as it swallowed her, right?
          Yeah, it IS hard to understand why he loves her. What bonds them? What do they enjoy about each other’s company? What interests or dreams do they have in common? It’s annoying to me in the same way as when a friend has a boyfriend or girlfriend who I just don’t think is GOOD ENOUGH for MY EXCELLENT FRIEND. Not that I want O’Brien to have some kind of SUPER PERFECT WIFE because I think he’s so awesome, but I’d like him to have someone who at least seems happy to have him around and doesn’t pull shit like ‘I will agree to move to a shitty Cardie space station so you can have a promotion and lots of interesting new challenges, THEN once we get there I’ll complain about it non-stop and accuse you of making the decision for us’ or ‘Is this the sort of place you want your daughter to grow up? *guilt rays to which I know you are particularly susceptible being Irish* BRB starting a school, with no teaching qualifications or experience, so I can be busy all day and have to put said daughter in childcare. OH WHOOPS THERE’S NO CHILDCARE ON THIS STATION. WHAT THE HELL DO WE DO WITH HER WHILE WE’RE BOTH AT WORK, SERIOUSLY.’
          Man, I wish she hadn’t changed her mind in ‘Data’s Day.’ Only the fact that Molly is wicked adorable and, sigh, O’Brien does LOVE her prevents me wishing Keiko out of the franchise altogether. This is kind of like how I find Geordi horribly boring but feel I have to tolerate him because he’s Data’s BFF.

          Oh, Garak turns up all the time. He quite enjoys being one of those sitcom friends who doesn’t have a home set of his own and is therefore constantly hanging out in someone else’s. He makes himself useful, making and mending the children’s play clothes, teaching them how to compose plausible and pleasing lies and move with stealth and cunning, maintaining the garden (Keiko would have appreciated that), and probably not assassinating anyone. And if he keeps a spare toothbrush and pair of pyjamas in Julian’s little apartmentlet over the garage, well, chacun à son goût, and he does get up early and make excellent breakfasts.


Leave a Reply

